Skip to product information
1 of 3

Orang Utan - Sumatra Classic Espresso

Caramel, Apple, Dark chocolate
Regular price
12,90 €
Regular price
Sale price
12,90 €
Unit price
51,60 €  per  kg
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Size
Grind

    About the coffee

    The Orang Utan Project is committed to the sustainable cultivation of coffee in the rainforest without exploiting it. As the rainforest has shrunk considerably in recent years, the flora and fauna as well as our climate are under massive threat and so this project coffee is particularly important to us.

    The Orang Utan coffee comes from the Gayo Highlands, in Central Aceh, just north of the equator. This coffee is as rare as it is delicate in its flavour profile and tastes great both as a filter or as an espresso. The diversity of the rainforest provides a special climate that Sumatra needs for its unique Arabica coffees. The outstanding Arabica trees thrive mainly on the steep slopes of the crater, where the growing conditions are optimal due to the adjacent rainforest.

    The rainforest is the habitat of many endangered species, including the Sumatran orangutang. The ongoing destruction of tropical rainforests threatens its existence - but also that of the farmers. It is therefore important that smallholders recognise and protect the importance of the rainforest for their livelihoods.

    The Orang Utan Coffee Growers manage their coffee farms according to the strict Orang Utan guidelines, which are a combination of the Indonesian National Standards for Organic Agriculture SNI and are essentially similar to the Swiss standards for organic farming.

    About the farm


    The Orang Utan Coffee Project aims at a holistic, sustainable approach focusing on social responsibility and the protection of tropical rainforests with their unique biodiversity and their important role in global climate change mitigation: This project brings together only micro farmers who have owned one or two hectares for several generations. The following are the basic rules under which the Orang Utan farmers operate:

    - they do not use agricultural chemicals such as artificial fertilisers, pesticides or herbicides.

    - they agree not to clear tropical rainforests to expand their farmland.

    - they agree not to hunt, capture or trade protected animal or plant species.

    For more information, visit the project's Website.

    Indonesia as a cultivation area

    Coffee has been grown in Indonesia since the 16th century. Supposedly, the first coffee plants were a gift from the Dutch governor of Malabar in India to the governor of Jakarta, though the ship sank in a high tide off Jakarta in 1696. The governor was then sent a second shipment, which arrived in 1699 (apparently).

    Another peculiarity of Indonesian coffees is their diversity of flavours. The growing conditions are very difficult, so many Robusta varieties are grown, as they are more resistant than Arabica coffee plants. A widely used processing method is semi-washed, which gives the coffee a strong body with few acids in the cup.

    Choose your grind

    If you don't have a grinder at home, we'll happily grind your coffee to your specifications. Just select your brewing method above or order whole beans.

    Cultivation

    Cultivated with love by great farmers. 100% Arabica coffee, harvested when ripe and carefully processed. Sustainable and fairly traded.

    Shipping

    Freshly roasted, packed and shipped safely to you by DHL.

    Packaging

    Our standard bags contain 250g and are 100% recyclable. No mixed materials.

    Brewing

    Take your tried-and-tested recipe as a starting point for this roast, or get help from our brew guides.

    Deine 250g Tüte Orang Utan Sumatra Espresso Packshot Sumatra Orang Utan Deine 250g Tüte Orang Utan Sumatra Espresso Infos Deine 1000g Tüte Orang Utan Sumatra Espresso

    Bloody Good Coffee

    - SINCE 2002

    Bloody Good Classic Espresso

    Also known as a bean-to-cup, fully automatic machines are a reliable and consistent way of brewing coffee. Because the contact time between the water and the coffee grounds is very short, many specialty coffees with a lighter roast profile yield poor results in a bean-to-cup. Our classic roasts have a slightly darker profile, making them ideal for a fully automated brew, but also for any other espresso-based brewer.

    Third Wave Water

    Damit dein Vollautomat dir viele Jahre gute Dienste erweisen kann, behandle ihn gut und verwende kein Leitungswasser. Wir empfehlen, Third Wave Water-Mineralien in einem Wasser mit geringem Mineral-Inhalt aufzulösen und dieses in den Wassertank zu geben.

    So wird die Maschine weniger schnell verkalken und du deinen Kaffee noch mehr genießen.

    Third Wave Water

    Simply order your favourite coffee online.

    Sustainably grown

    Carefully grown and processed by our partners.

    Worldwide shipping

    Safe and reliable with DHL. Direct to your door.

    Recyclable packaging

    There are no mixed materials in our coffee bags, making them easy to recycle.

    Pay securely

    Choose from several secure payment methods

    .

    • Free shipping from €30

      Easy, safe and fast delivery with DHL. Free of charge from €30 order value.

    • Coffee subscription

      Get your favourite coffee in a subscription. Simply delivered to your door, free of charge*.

    • Directly & Fairly Traded

      We attach great importance to our long-term relationships, keeping farmers on equal terms.

Orang Utan Sumatra Espresso
Karamell, Apfel, Dunkle Schokolade
€9,90

€39,60 / kg

250g1000g
ganze BohneAeropressBialettiEspresso Maschine
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versand

Der Orang Utan Kaffee ist ein Projekt Kaffee aus Sumatra. Das Projekt unterstützt die lokalen Kaffeebauern in der Verbesserung von Lebens- und Anbaubedingungen. Wir haben diese Bohnen für Espresso geröstet.


Das Project
Das Orang Utan Project setzt sich für einen Nachhaltigen Anbau von Kaffee im Regenwald ein, ohne diesen auszubeuten. Da der Regenwald besonders in den letzten Jahren stark geschrumpft ist, und Flora und Fauna, aber auch unser Klima massiv bedroht sind, ist uns dieser Projekt Kaffee besonders wichtig:

Der Orang Utan Kaffee stammt aus den Gayo Highlands, in Central Aceh, knapp nördlich des Äquators. Dieser Kaffee ist so selten wie delikat in seinem Geschmacksprofil und schmeckt sowohl als Filter, wie auch als Espresso großartig Geschmacksintensiv. Die Vielfalt des Regenwaldes bietet ein besonderes Klima, das Sumatra für seine einzigartigen Arabica Kaffees braucht. Die herausragenden Arabica-Bäume gedeihen hauptsächlich an den Steilen Hängen des Kraters, wo die Wachstumsbedingungen durch den angrenzenden Regenwald optimal sind.

Der Regenwald ist der Lebensraum von vielen vom Aussterben bedrohten Arten - auch des Sumatra-Orang-Utans. Die fortschreitende Zerstörung tropischer Regenwälder bedroht seine Existenz - aber auch die der Bauern. Es ist daher wichtig, dass die Kleinbauern die Bedeutung des Regenwaldes für ihren Unterhalt anerkennen und schützen.
Die Orang Utan Coffee Growers bewirtschaften ihre Kaffeefarmen gemäß der strengen Orang Utan-Richtlinien, die eine Kombination der indonesischen nationalen Standards für den ökologischen Landbau SNI darstellen und im Wesentlichen den schweizerischen Standards für den ökologischen Landbau ähneln.


Die Farmen
Das Orang Utan Kaffee Projekt zielt auf einen ganzheitlich-nachhaltigen Ansatz ab, der sich auf soziale Verantwortung und den Schutz tropischer Regenwälder mit ihrer einzigartigen Artenvielfalt und ihrer wichtigen Rolle im globalen Klimaschutz konzentriert: In diesem Projekt kommen die ausschließlich Kleinstbauern zusammen, die seit mehreren Generationen ein oder zwei Hektar besitzen. Folgende sind die Grundregeln, unter denen die Orang-Utan-Farmer wirtschaften:
- sie verwenden keine landwirtschaftlichen Chemikalien wie Kunstdünger, Pestizide oder Herbizide.
- vereinbaren, den tropischen Regenwald nicht zu roden, um ihr Ackerland zu erweitern.
- verpflichten sich, geschützte Tier- oder Pflanzenarten nicht zu jagen, zu fangen oder zu handeln.

Weitere Informationen findest du auf der Website des Projekts.

Indonesien als Anbaugebiet
In Indonesien wird bereits seit 16. Jahrhundert Kaffee angebaut. Angeblich sollen die ersten Kaffeepflanzen ein Geschenk des Niederländischen Gouverneurs von Malabar in Indien an den Gouverneur von Jakarta gewesen sein. Doch das Schiff ging in einer Flut vor Jakarta in 1696 unter. Der Gouverneur bekam eine zweite Sendung geschickt, die 1699 (offensichtlich) ankam.

Eine weitere Besonderheit von indonesischen Kaffees ist ihr sehr unterschiedlicher Geschmack. Auch sind die Anbaubedingungen sehr schwierig, sodass man hier auch viele Robusta-Varietäten anbaut, da diese widerstandsfähiger sind als Arabicakaffeepflanzen. Eine weit verbreitete Aufbereitungsmethode ist semi-washed, die den Kaffees in der Tasse eine starken Körper mit wenig Säuren verleiht.

Was du über diesen Kaffee wissen solltest

Kaffee aus Indien

Die Geschichte, wie der Kaffee nach Indien kam, beruht auf folgendem Mythos: Der Pilger Baba Budan kam aus Mekka über Jemen nach Indien und schmuggelte dabei sieben Kaffeesamen mit. Da sieben als eine heilige Zahl angesehen wird, war dieser Akt von großer religiöser Bedeutung. Kaffees aus Indien sind in der Regel schwer, cremig und säurearm, aber selten besonders komplex.

indien

Brewing

Empfohlenes Brühverhältnis

1:2, 19gr Kaffee für 40gr Espresso, Brühzeit: 30-35 Sekunden. Auch im Vollautomaten

Kaffeearomen

Karamell, Apfel, Dunkle Schokolade

Karamell

Apfel

Dunkle Schokolade

Charakter

Ein klassisch indonesischer Kaffee mit nussig, würzigen Noten.

Über den Kaffee

Varietät: Tim Tim und Ateng

Verarbeitung: Washed

Anbauhöhe: 1500 m üNN

Düngemethode: ökologisch

Erntejahr: 2020

Erntezeit: Sept - Dez

Bodentyp: fruchtiger Regenwaldboden

Schattentyp: in Einheit mit dem Regenwald gewachsen

Ort der Verarbeitung: nahegelegene Mühle

Über die Farm

Farm: Orang Utan Project Kaffee

Ort: Gayo Highlands, Sumatra

Kaffeefarmer: Projektkaffee

Betreiberform: Kleinfarmerkooperative

Über die Farm: Das Orang Utan Projekt unterstützt Farmer und den Schutz der Orang Utans und ihres Lebensraums.

Weitere Varietäten vor Ort: Typica, Didikalang, Djember,

Zusammenarbeit: mehrere Jahre

espresso 19grams

Bloody Good Espresso

Specialty Coffee und Vollautomaten gehen nicht zusammen? Wir finden, das stimmt nicht. Wir haben in den letzten Jahren eine kontinuierliche Leistungssteigerung bei Vollautomaten gesehen, und uns entschieden, die Herausforderung anzunehmen: wir haben einen richtig guten Specialty Espresso für Vollautomaten entwickelt. Korrekt eingestellt ist der Vollautomat ist eine zuverlässige und konsistente Zubereitungsmethode. Für die kurze Kontaktzeit von Wasser und Kaffeepulver eignen sich hellere Espressoröstungen - wie sie im Specialty Coffee üblich sind - nicht. Mit einer klassischen, dunkleren Röstung - wie dieser hier - kannst du die volle Aromenvielfalt genießen!

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

German
German
x