Skip to product information
1 of 2

7. December | Lunji AB - Tansania Espresso

Black Currant, Pear, Lime

In this coffee we taste black currant, pear and lime.

About the coffee

Currently, all coffee on the Lunji Estate farm is processed using the 'washed' method. In earlier times, when there was no demand for natural coffee (and water was abundant), this was simply the most efficient way of processing. Stella and Clemens' son Paul, who will take over quality control on the farm as soon as he finishes his studies in agricultural sciences in Berlin, is currently engaged in experiments with naturals and honeys.

After the selective hand harvest, the coffee is sorted to remove all residues and damaged cherries. Immediately after harvesting, the cherries go into a pulper. The coffee is then transferred with fresh water to fermentation tanks, where it ferments for about 24 hours. In the final step, the coffee is dried on raised beds for between 9 and 13 days, and is regularly turned and sorted to remove damaged beans and impurities. The coffee is finally stored in a dry mill about 25 km from the farm. After grinding, it is sorted by sieve size and density. The grading is done according to PB, AA, A, B, C, E, F, AF, TT, UG. In 2017/18, 52% of the farm's crop was defined as AA, which is a very good percentage and speaks for the farming methods.

About the farm

Lunji Estate farm is located right at the foot of the Mbeya mountain range, offering a breathtaking ambience characterized by spectacular views and climate. The name "Lunji", which the current owners believe is derived from "Ilunji", comes from an old name in Safwa (the local tribal language) for a tree common in the region. Although the word is no longer used today, older people still remember the name of the tree. The current owners, Clemens Maier and Thomas Plattner, purchased the farm in 1994 from the previous owner, who had abandoned the farm for many years due to illness. Clemens and his wife Stella agreed to manage the farm and bring it back to life, but they had their hands full.

The farm is currently focusing on quality, as Stella and Clemens know that specialty coffee production is on the rise in Europe. Currently, about 60% of the farm's total production is sold as specialty coffee, but their dream is to increase that percentage even more.

Cultivation

Cultivated with love by great farmers. 100% Arabica coffee, harvested when ripe and carefully processed. Sustainable and fairly traded.

Packaging
Our tins contain 50g of coffee, and are recylcable. No mixed materials.
Preparation
Start with your approved recipe or check out the Brew Guides.

19grams Kaffeeadventskalender 7. Dezember Tansania

Bloody good Advent

For 8 delicious years.
Lunji Farmer

About the Coffee

Black Currant, Pear, Lime

Score: 87
Sweetness: 3/5 Vanille
Acidity: mild
Mouthfeel:
seidig
Body:
leicht und flüchtig

Variety: Kent, Bourbon
Processing: Washed
Harvesting Year: 2021
Drying Time: 9 - 13 days


Suggested brew recipe:
1:2, 19gr coffee for 40gr espresso, brewing time: 30-35 seconds.

About the Coffee

In this coffee we taste blackcurrant, pear and lime.

Map Tanzania Souther Highlands

About the farm

The farm currently grows about 60% Specialty Coffee.

Relationship:
new partner
Producer:
Clemens & Stella Moier & Thomas Platter
Type of Farm:
family owned business

Region, Country: Mbeya, TZ
Altitude:
1650 masl
Soil type: fertile soils
Fertilisation method: biological
Shadow Type: schattenspendende Bäume
Processing location:
on the farm
Number of varieties: verschiedene
Harvest season:
Mai-Nov



Simply order your favourite coffee online.

Sustainably cultivated

Carefully grown and processed by our partners

Wordwide Shipping

Shipped Carefully and safe with DHL. To your home.

Recycable packaging

No mixed materials in our coffee bags, therefore easy to recycle.

Pay safely

Choose from several secure payment methods.

  • Free Shipping over 30€

    Easy, safe and fast delivery with DHL. Free of charge from 30€ order value.

  • Coffee Subscription

    Get your favourite coffee in the subscription. Easy and free shipping* to your home.
  • Direct & Fair trade

    We give great importance to longerterm relationships. On the same page with the farmers.

Zu den Produktinformationen springen
1 von 2

7. Lunji AB - Tansania Espresso

Schwarze Johannisbeere, Birne, Limette

Bei diesem Kaffee schmecken wir schwarze Johannisbeere, Birne und Limette.

Über den Kaffee

Derzeit wird der gesamte Kaffee auf der Farm Lunji Estate nach der Methode 'washed' verarbeitet. In früheren Zeiten, als es keine Nachfrage nach Naturkaffee gab (und Wasser im Überfluss vorhanden war), war dies einfach die effizienteste Art der Verarbeitung. Stella und Clemens' Sohn Paul, der die Qualitätskontrolle auf der Farm übernehmen wird, sobald er sein Studium der Agrarwissenschaften in Berlin beendet hat, beschäftigt sich aktuell mit Experimenten zu mit Naturals und Honeys.
Nach der selektiven Handlese wird der Kaffee sortiert, um alle Rückstände und beschädigten Kirschen zu entfernen. Direkt nach der Ernte komme die Kirschen in einen Pulper. Anschließend wird der Kaffee mit frischem Wasser in Gärtanks befördert, wo er etwa 24 Stunden lang fermentieren. Im letzten Schritt wird der Kaffee zwischen 9 und 13 Tagen auf Hochbeeten getrocknet und regelmäßig gewendet und sortiert, um beschädigte Bohnen und Verunreinigungen zu entfernen. Der Kaffee wird schließlich in einer Trockenmühle etwa 25 km vom Betrieb entfernt gelagert. Nach dem Mahlen wird er nach Siebgröße und Dichte sortiert. Die Sortierung erfolgt nach PB, AA, A, B, C, E, F, AF, TT, UG. Im Jahr 2017/18 wurden 52 % der Ernte der Farm als AA definiert, was ein sehr guter Prozentsatz ist und für die Anbaumethoden spricht.

Anbau

Von tollen Farmern mit Liebe angebaut. 100% Arabica Kaffee, reif geerntet und sorgfälitg verarbeitet. Nachhaltig und fair gehandelt.

Verpackung

Unsere Dosen enthalten 50g und sind 100% recyclebar. Kein Mischmaterialien.

Zubereitung

Nimm als Ausgangspunkt für diese Röstung dein bewährtes Rezept, oder hol dir Hilfe in unseren Brew Guides.

19grams Kaffeeadventskalender 7. Dezember Tansania

Bloody Good Advent

– Seit 8 Jahren

Zum Kaffee

Schwarze Johannisbeere, Birne, Limette


Süße:
Säure:
Körper:

Varietät: Kent, Bourbon
Verarbeitung: Washed
Erntejahr: 2021
Trockungszeit: 9 - 13 Tage


Zubereitungsbeispiel:
1:2, 19gr Kaffee für 40gr Espresso, Brühzeit: 30-35 Sekunden.

Über den Kaffee

Bei diesem Kaffee schmecken wir schwarze Johannisbeere, Birne und Limette.

Über die Farm

Über die Farm

Die Farm Lunji Estate liegt direkt am Fuße der Mbeya-Bergkette und bietet ein atemberaubendes Ambiente, das durch die spektakuläre Aussicht und das Klima geprägt ist. Der Namen "Lunji", der sich nach Ansicht der heutigen Besitzer von "Ilunji" ableitet, kommt von einer alten Bezeichnung in Safwa (der lokalen Stammessprache) für einen in der Region verbreiteten Baum. Obwohl das Wort heute nicht mehr verwendet wird, erinnern sich ältere Menschen noch an den Namen des Baumes. Die jetzigen Besitzer, Clemens Maier und Thomas Plattner, erwarben den Hof 1994 von dem Vorbesitzer, der den Hof aus Krankheitsgründen viele Jahre lang aufgegeben hatte. Clemens und seine Frau Stella erklärten sich bereit, den Hof zu bewirtschaften und wieder zum Leben zu erwecken, aber sie hatten alle Hände voll zu tun.
Der Betrieb konzentriert sich derzeit auf Qualität, denn Stella und Clemens wissen, dass die Produktion von Spezialitätenkaffee in Europa im Kommen ist. Derzeit werden etwa 60 % der Gesamtproduktion der Farm als Spezialitätenkaffee verkauft, aber ihr Traum ist es, diesen Anteil noch weiter zu steigern.


Zusammenarbeit:
neuer Partner
Farmer/ Produzent:
Clemens & Stella Moier & Thomas Platter
Betreiberform:
Familiengeführte Farm

Land, Region: CO, Mbeya
Anbauhöhe:
1650 m üNN
Bodentyp: fruchtbare Böden
Düngemethode: biologisch
Schattentyp:
Ort der Verarbeitung:
auf der Farm
Anzahl der Varietäten:
Erntezeit:



Deinen Lieblingskaffee einfach online bestellen.

Nachhaltig angebaut

Von unseren Partnern sorgfältig angebaut und verarbeitet.

Weltweiter Versand

Sicher und zuverlässig mit DHL. Zu dir nach Hause.

Recyclebare Verpackung

Keine Mischmaterialien in unseren Kaffeetüten, daher einfach zu recyclen.

Sicher bezahlen

Wähle aus verscheidenen, sicheren Bezahlmethoden.

  • Versandkostenfrei ab 30€

    Mit DHL einfach, sicher und schnell geliefert. Kostenlos ab 30€ Bestellwert.

  • Kaffee im Abo

    Hol dir deinen Lieblingskaffee im Abo. Einfach und versandkostenfrei* zu dir nach Hause geliefert.

  • Direkt & Fair gehandelt

    Wir legen großen Wert auf langfristige Beziehungen. Mit den Farmern auf Augenhöhe.