Skip to product information
1 of 1

6. Kachipapa SL28 – Zambia Espresso

Brown Sugar Cookie, Spiced Rum, Maple Syrup

We taste notes of speculoos, spiced rum and maple syrup. This SL28 lot was processed using the Red Honey method. This means that during the drying process, so much pulp is left on the bean that the sticky mass that forms looks like red honey. The flavour profile has the sweetness of apple pie, a moderate citric acidity and an almost chewy body. In the finish, we taste rather earthy notes.

Cultivation

Grown with love by great farmers. 100% arabica coffee, picked when it's ripe, processed with care, and fairly traded.

Packaging

The tins in our advent calendar hold 50g of coffee and are free from mixed materials, making them 100% recyclable.

Brewing
Take your tried-and-tested recipe as a starting point for this roast, or get help from our brew guides.

Scoring Card
The coffee cherry can develop up to 1,200 different natural flavours. Depending on location and variety. Learn to understand the flavours in coffee with the Scoring Card. Grade your coffee by filling out your Scoring Card.

Bloody Good Advent

– 8th Edition

Zambia Kachipapa Farm Birdview

About the Coffee

Brown Sugar Cookie, Spiced Rum, Maple Syrup

Score: 86
Sweetness: 3/5 Apple pie
Acidity: 3/5 Citrus
Mouthfeel:
5/5 Chewy
Body:
3/5 Earthy

Variety: SL28
Processing: Red Honey
Harvesting Year: 2022
Drying Time: Weather-dependent, with careful monitoring of moisture content


Suggested brew recipe:
1:2.5 (eg 19g coffee to a 47.5g yield)

About this coffee

At Kachipapa, harvesting is performed entirely by hand. By selectively picking the cherries, they can be captured at their ripest, which keeps under or overripe cherries out of the harvest. Within five hours of being picked, the fresh, ripe coffee cherries are fermented, which breaks down the mucilage on the coffee seeds before they are washed, leaving just the seeds. They are then laid out to be dried in the sun, until they reach the desired moisture content of around 12%.

We taste notes of brown sugar, spiced rum and maple syrup.

Map Zambia

The farm | Kachipapa Farm

Kachipapa Farm is a 350 hectare family-run farm located just outside Serenje in Zambia. At an altitude of 1450 meters above sea level, the coffee is grown in deep red soils that are rich in nutrients and provide good drainage. There are 40 hectares of producing coffee trees and a further 20 hectares with younger trees that will start producing their first harvest in about two years time.

The sweltering conditions mean that the entire farm needs to be irrigated. The family pays particular attention to ensuring the trees are getting enough water in the dry season. The local climate has a wet season from November to April, and a dry season from May to October, though the hottest months are from September until November. Each year, the region sees about 1200 mm of precipitation. Besides coffee, macadamia is also grown on the farm.

One of the key aims of the Kachipapa farm is to improve the quality of life of their employees and the local region. Thus far, they've built 25 new houses for permanent staff, as well as a new plumbing system that provides clean water to the surrounding areas. They've also been able to finance the local school, enabling more teachers to be employed, as well as supplying medical aid and Malaria prevention measures to the local authorities.


Relationship:
Several years
Producer:
Kachipapa Farm
Type of farm:
Family-run farm

Region, Country: Serenje, Zambia
Altitude:
1500 masl
Soil type: Sandy soils
Fertilisation method: Organic
Shade type: Shade grown
Processing location:
On the farm
Number of varieties: Various
Harvest season:
Apr-Sept



About the farm

Kachipapa Farm is a 350 hectare family-run farm located just outside Serenje in Zambia. At an altitude of 1450 meters above sea level, the coffee is grown in deep red soils that are rich in nutrients and provide good drainage. There are 40 hectares of producing coffee trees and a further 20 hectares with younger trees that will start producing their first harvest in about two years time.

The sweltering conditions mean that the entire farm needs to be irrigated. The family pays particular attention to ensuring the trees are getting enough water in the dry season. The local climate has a wet season from November to April, and a dry season from May to October, though the hottest months are from September until November. Each year, the region sees about 1200 mm of precipitation. Besides coffee, macadamia is also grown on the farm.

One of the key aims of the Kachipapa farm is to improve the quality of life of their employees and the local region. Thus far, they've built 25 new houses for permanent staff, as well as a new plumbing system that provides clean water to the surrounding areas. They've also been able to finance the local school, enabling more teachers to be employed, as well as supplying medical aid and Malaria prevention measures to the local authorities.

Espresso läuft durch Siebträger in 19grams Tasse

Bloody Good Espresso

Coffee is a fruit which is naturally acidic and contains many sugars. We roast our espresso to develop a fine acidity and to bring out its natural sweetness.

Our espresso roasts aim to present the strong flavour profiles of different origins. Discover our single origin espressos – all 100% arabica coffees, carefully selected and gently roasted by our team in Berlin.

Simply order your favourite coffees online

Sustainably grown

Carefully grown and processed by our partners.

Worldwide shipping

Safe and reliable with DHL. Direct to your door.

Recyclable packaging

There are no mixed materials in our bags, making them easy to recycle.

Pay securely

Choose from several secure payment methods.

Christmas Presents for Coffee Lover

  • Free shipping from €30

    Easy, safe and fast delivery with DHL. Free of charge from €30 order value.

  • Coffee Subscription

    Get your favourite coffee in a subscription. Simply delivered to your door free of charge*.

  • Directly & Fairly Traded

    We attach great importance to our long-term relationships, keeping farmers on equal terms.

Zu den Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

6. Kachipapa SL28 – Sambia Espresso

Spekulatius, Gewürzrum, Ahornsirup

Wir schmecken Noten von Spekulatius, Gewürzrum und Ahornsirup. Dieses SL28 Lot wurde mit der Red Honey Methode verarbeitet. Das bedeutet, dass während der Trocknung noch soviel Fruchtfleisch an der Bohne belassen wird, dass die sich bildende klebrige Masse aussieht wie roter Honig. Das Geschmacksprofil hat die Süße von Apfelkuchen, eine mäßige Zitronensäure und einen fast zähen Körper. Im Abgang schmecken wir eher erdige Noten.

Anbau

Von tollen Farmern mit Liebe angebaut. 100% Arabica Kaffee, reif geerntet und sorgfälitg verarbeitet. Nachhaltig und fair gehandelt.

Verpackung

Unsere Dosen enthalten 50g und sind 100% recyclebar. Kein Mischmaterialien.

Zubereitung

Nimm als Ausgangspunkt für diese Röstung dein bewährtes Rezept, oder hol dir Hilfe in unseren Brew Guides.

Scoring Card

Die Kaffeekirsche kann bis zu 1.200 verschiedene natürliche Geschmacksnoten ausbilden. Je nach Standort und Varietät.

Lerne mit der Scoring Card, den Geschmack im Kaffee zu verstehen. Stufe deinen Kaffee ein, indem du deine Scoring Card ausfüllst.

Bloody Good Advent

– Seit 8 Jahren

Zambia Kachipapa Farm Birdview

Zum Kaffee

Spekulatius, Gewürzrum, Ahornsirup


Süße: 3/5 Apfelkuchen
Säure: 3/5 Zitrusfrüchte
Körper:
3/5 erdig

Varietät: SL28
Verarbeitung: Red Honey
Erntejahr: 2022
Trockungszeit: je nach Wetter, Feuchtegrad wird stetig kontrolliert


Zubereitungsbeispiel:
1:2,5 (z.B. 19gr Kaffee auf 47,5gr Wasser) in 30-35 Sekunden

Über den Kaffee

Auf der Kachipapa-Farm erfolgt die Ernte zu 100% von Hand. Durch die selektive Ernte können etwaige Unter-/Überreifen oder Mängel entfernt werden. Innerhalb von 5 Stunden nach der Ernte werden die Kirschen fermentiert, um den verbleibenden Fruchtschleim abzubauen. Danach werden die Früchte gewaschen, bevor sie in der Sonne getrocknet werden, bis der optimale Feuchtigkeitsgehalt erreicht ist (etwa 12%). Wir schmecken Noten von braunem Zucker, Gewürzrum und Ahornsirup.

Map Zambia

Über die Farm

Die Kachipapa Farm ist eine 350 Hektar große, familiengeführte Kaffeefarm, die sich etwas außerhalb von Serenje in Sambia befindet. Die Farm liegt auf einer Höhe von 1.450 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel. Der Kaffee wird auf tiefroten Sandböden angebaut, die einen hohen Nährstoffgehalt bieten und eine gute Drainage haben. Es gibt 40 Hektar "produzierender" Kaffeebäume und 20 Hektar junger Kaffeebäume, die voraussichtlich in zwei Jahren erste Ernten abwerfen werden.

Der gesamte Kaffee wird bewässert. Gerade in der Trockenzeit passt die Familie auf, dass die Pflanzen immer ausreichend Wasser bekommen. Das Klima in Serenje, Sambia, hat normalerweise eine Regenzeit (November - April) und eine Trockenzeit (Mai - Oktober), wobei die heißesten Monate September bis November sind. Die durchschnittliche Niederschlagsmenge beträgt etwa 1.200 mm pro Jahr. Auf der Farm wächst nicht nur Kaffee sondern auch Macadamia-Bäume.

Eines der Hauptziele der der Kachipapa-Farm besteht darin, die Lebensqualität für das Personal und die lokale Gemeinschaft zu verbessern. Es wurden bisher 25 neue Häuser für die fest angestellten Mitarbeiter der Farm gebaut und kürzlich neue Rohrleitungssysteme für sauberes Wasser installiert, die die Gemeinde mit sauberem Wasser versorgen. Sie sind auch in der Lage, die örtliche Schule für die Anstellung von Lehrern zu finanzieren und den örtlichen Gemeinden medizinische Hilfe und Malaria-Prävention zu bieten.


Zusammenarbeit:
Mehrere Jahre
Farmer/ Produzent:
Kachipapa Farm
Betreiberform:
Familiengeführt

Land, Region: Sambia, Serenje
Anbauhöhe:
1.500 m üNN
Bodentyp: Sandige Böden
Düngemethode: biologisch
Schattentyp: im Schatten gewachsen
Ort der Verarbeitung:
Auf der Farm
Anzahl der Varietäten: Mehrere
Erntezeit:
Apr-Sept



Mehr zur Farm

Die Kachipapa Farm ist eine 350 Hektar große, familiengeführte Kaffeefarm, die sich etwas außerhalb von Serenje in Sambia befindet. Die Farm liegt auf einer Höhe von 1.450 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel. Der Kaffee wird auf tiefroten Sandböden angebaut, die einen hohen Nährstoffgehalt bieten und eine gute Drainage haben. Es gibt 40 Hektar "produzierender" Kaffeebäume und 20 Hektar junger Kaffeebäume, die voraussichtlich in zwei Jahren erste Ernten abwerfen werden.
Der gesamte Kaffee wird bewässert. Gerade in der Trockenzeit passt die Familie auf, dass die Pflanzen immer ausreichend Wasser bekommen. Das Klima in Serenje, Sambia, hat normalerweise eine Regenzeit (November - April) und eine Trockenzeit (Mai - Oktober), wobei die heißesten Monate September bis November sind. Die durchschnittliche Niederschlagsmenge beträgt etwa 1.200 mm pro Jahr. Auf der Farm wächst nicht nur Kaffee sondern auch Macadamia-Bäume.
Eines der Hauptziele der der Kachipapa-Farm besteht darin, die Lebensqualität für das Personal und die lokale Gemeinschaft zu verbessern. Es wurden bisher 25 neue Häuser für die fest angestellten Mitarbeiter der Farm gebaut und kürzlich neue Rohrleitungssysteme für sauberes Wasser installiert, die die Gemeinde mit sauberem Wasser versorgen. Sie sind auch in der Lage, die örtliche Schule für die Anstellung von Lehrern zu finanzieren und den örtlichen Gemeinden medizinische Hilfe und Malaria-Prävention zu bieten.

Espresso läuft durch Siebträger in 19grams Tasse

Bloody Good Espresso

Kaffee ist eine Frucht mit vielen natürlichen Fruchtsäuren. Wir rösten unsere Espressos so, dass sie feine Säurelinien entwickeln, aber auch die Süße hervorheben. 

Mit unseren Espresso-Röstungen präsentieren wir die intensiven Geschmacksprofile verschiedener Kaffee-Ursprünge. Entdecke unsere Single Origin Espressos - allesamt 100% Aracabica Kaffees, die von unserem Röstteam sorgfältig ausgewählt und schonend geröstet wurden.

Deinen Lieblingskaffee einfach online bestellen.

Nachhaltig angebaut

Von unseren Partnern sorgfältig angebaut und verarbeitet.

Weltweiter Versand

Sicher und zuverlässig mit DHL. Zu dir nach Hause.

Recyclebare Verpackung

Keine Mischmaterialien in unseren Kaffeetüten, daher einfach zu recyclen.

Sicher bezahlen

Wähle aus verscheidenen, sicheren Bezahlmethoden.

Weihnachtsgeschenke für Kaffeeliebhaber

  • Versandkostenfrei ab 30€

    Mit DHL einfach, sicher und schnell geliefert. Kostenlos ab 30€ Bestellwert.

  • Kaffee im Abo

    Hol dir deinen Lieblingskaffee im Abo. Einfach und versandkostenfrei* zu dir nach Hause geliefert.

  • Direkt & Fair gehandelt

    Wir legen großen Wert auf langfristige Beziehungen. Mit den Farmern auf Augenhöhe.