Skip to product information
1 of 2

24. December | Sonora Geisha - Costa Rica Espresso

Mango, passionfruit, honey

Sonora L9 from Hacienda Sonora in Costa Rica has a rich, intense body with a syrupy, jammy texture. In the cup, you'll taste sweet dried fruits like sultanas, with a hint of lemon clementine acidity. Just right for a great espresso. Carefully roasted for you in Berlin.

About this coffee

Sonora L9 is a great coffee with a creamy and sweet texture. We roasted it as an espresso to highlight its rich and decadent flavour profile. This espresso coffee is full-bodied, but very clean and clear. Sonora L9 has a sugary sweetness. You'll taste super sweet caramel fudge in the cup, along with bittersweet walnuts and fruity red plum. The aftertaste is sweet with a hint of fresh clementines.

The cherries of the L9 variety are slowly dried in the sun after harvesting. By leaving the pulp on the bean first, it can absorb all the sweetness of the ripe cherry. As a result, the coffee will later develop a rich sweetness. After about 10-12 days of drying, the cherries are pulped - the dry skin separated from the beans - and stored for a few more days. The resting time has to be at a certain temperature so that the beans reach a certain degree of moisture. This type of processing is called 'natural'. It is particularly environmentally friendly because, for example, unlike the washed method, it uses hardly any water.

About the farm

Our relationship with Hacienda Sonora has grown and strengthened over many years as 19grams grow as a business - we know and love their coffees. The farm is already more than a hundred years old, and the Guardìas now have generations of experience growing coffee. More than 20 different varieties are grown on around 100 hectares - partly in the protected forest. The Guardìas love to experiment with coffee varieties and processing methods. That's why we always look forward to their harvest, because every time there is a new, unique coffee to discover.

Diego Guadìas and his family attach great importance to protecting the environment and especially the surrounding rainforest when processing the beans.

Cultivation

Cultivated with love by great farmers. 100% Arabica coffee, harvested when ripe and carefully processed. Sustainable and fairly traded.

Packaging
Our tins contain 50g of coffee, and are recylcable. No mixed materials.
Preparation
Start with your approved recipe or check out the Brew Guides.

19grams Kaffeeadventskalender 24. Dezember Costa Rica

Bloody good Advent

For 8 delicious years.

About the Coffee

Mango, passionfruit, honey

Score:
Sweetness:
Acidity:
Mouthfeel:

Body:

Variety: L9
Processing: Natural
Harvesting Year: 2019/2020
Drying Time: etwa 14 Tage


Suggested brew recipe:
1:2 ratio, 19gr coffee grounds for 40gr espresso, brewing time: 30-35 secs.

About the Coffee

We close this trip with this great L9 variety from Costa Rica.

Map Sonora Costa rica

About the farm

Unsere Beziehung zur Hacienda Sonora ist über viele Jahre gewachsen und hat sich gefestigt, während 19grams als Geschäft wachsen - wir kennen und lieben ihre Kaffeesorten. Die Farm ist bereits mehr als hundert Jahre alt, und die Guardìas haben nun schon seit Generationen Erfahrung im Kaffeeanbau. Auf rund 100 Hektar werden mehr als 20 verschiedene Sorten angebaut - teilweise im geschützten Wald. Die Guardìas lieben es, mit Kaffeesorten und Verarbeitungsmethoden zu experimentieren. Deshalb freuen wir uns immer wieder auf ihre Ernte, denn jedes Mal gibt es einen neuen, einzigartigen Kaffee zu entdecken.

Diego Guadìas und seine Familie legen bei der Prozessierung der Bohnen großen Wert darauf, dass die Umwelt und vor allem der sie umgebende Regenwald geschützt wird.


Relationship:
seit vielen Jahren
Producer:
Diego Guardia
Type of Farm:
family business

Region, Country: Alajuela, Grecia - Central Valley, CR
Altitude:
1300 m
Soil type: Volcanic earth
Fertilisation method: organic
Shadow Type: grown in the shade
Processing location:
on the farm
Number of varieties: more than 20
Harvest season:
Dec - Fev



Simply order your favourite coffee online.

Sustainably cultivated

Carefully grown and processed by our partners

Wordwide Shipping

Shipped Carefully and safe with DHL. To your home.

Recycable packaging

No mixed materials in our coffee bags, therefore easy to recycle.

Pay safely

Choose from several secure payment methods.

  • Free Shipping over 30€

    Easy, safe and fast delivery with DHL. Free of charge from 30€ order value.

  • Coffee Subscription

    Get your favourite coffee in the subscription. Easy and free shipping* to your home.
  • Direct & Fair trade

    We give great importance to longerterm relationships. On the same page with the farmers.

24. Sonora L9 - Costa Rica Espresso

Was du über diesen Kaffee wissen solltest:

Charakter

Wir schließen diese Reise mit dieser tollen L9 Varietät aus Costa Rica.

Empfohlenes Brühverhältnis

1:2 - 19gr Kaffee für 40gr Espresso in etwa 35 Sekunden

Kaffee aus Costa rica

Sonora L9 von der Hacienda Sonora in Costa Rica hat einen reichen, intensiven Körper mit einer sirupartigen, konfitürartigen Textur. In der Tasse schmeckst du süße Trockenfrüchte wie Rosinen, mit einem Hauch von Zitronen-Clementinen-Säure. Genau richtig für einen großartigen Espresso. Sorgfältig für euch in Berlin geröstet.

Über diesen Kaffee

Der Sonora L9 ist ein großartiger Kaffee mit einer cremigen und süßen Textur. Wir haben ihn als Espresso geröstet, um sein reichhaltiges und dekadentes Geschmacksprofil zu besonders herauszustellen. Dieser Espresso-Kaffee ist vollmundig, aber sehr sauber und klar. Sonora L9 hat eine zuckrige Süße. Du wirst supersüßes Karamellfudge in der Tasse schmecken, zusammen mit bittersüßen Walnüssen und fruchtig-roter Pflaume. Der Nachgeschmack ist süß mit einem Hauch von frischen Clementinen.

Die Kirschen der L9 Varietät werden nach der Ernte langsam in der Sonne getrocknet. Dadurch, dass das Fruchtfleisch zunächst an der Bohne bleibt, kann diese die ganze Süße der reifen Kirsche aufnehmen. Dadurch wird der Kaffee später eine reiche Süße entwickeln. Nach etwa 10-12 Tagen Trocknungszeit werden die Kirschen gepulpt - die trockene Schale von den Bohnen getrennt - und noch einige Tage gelagert. Die Ruhezeit muss bei einer bestimmten Temperatur erfolgen, sodass die Bohnen einen bestimmten Feuchtegrad erreichen. Diese Art der Verarbeitung nennt man 'Natural'. Sie ist besonders umweltfreundlich, da sie zum Beispiel im Gegenteil zu der gewaschenen Methode kaum Wasser verbraucht.

Über die Farm

Unsere Beziehung zur Hacienda Sonora ist über viele Jahre gewachsen und hat sich gefestigt, während 19grams als Geschäft wachsen - wir kennen und lieben ihre Kaffeesorten. Die Farm ist bereits mehr als hundert Jahre alt, und die Guardìas haben nun schon seit Generationen Erfahrung im Kaffeeanbau. Auf rund 100 Hektar werden mehr als 20 verschiedene Sorten angebaut - teilweise im geschützten Wald. Die Guardìas lieben es, mit Kaffeesorten und Verarbeitungsmethoden zu experimentieren. Deshalb freuen wir uns immer wieder auf ihre Ernte, denn jedes Mal gibt es einen neuen, einzigartigen Kaffee zu entdecken.

Diego Guadìas und seine Familie legen bei der Prozessierung der Bohnen großen Wert darauf, dass die Umwelt und vor allem der sie umgebende Regenwald geschützt wird.

Finde das perfekte Weihnachtsgeschenk:

Deutschland (EUR €)
Deutsch